2001-08-12 || 12:26 p.m.

Celts

Went to the Montreal International Celtic festival to-day. We watched several gajillion bands play on the grounds of a hospital for the insane, and discovered that I now have many CDs to buy. I see dollar signs, and it don't look tidy...

Ashley MacIsaac was the last act of the fest (of course). Well, he didn't insult the crowd or piss on anyone, but neither did he bring his usual rock-the-place-down band. We left after his second song.

It was nice to see that there were bands from pretty well all of the Celtic peoples were there: Obviously there were bands from Scotland and Ireland and Brittaby, but there were also groups from the Isle of Man, Astorias and Galicia, Wales, Nova Scotia, PEI, and Qu�bec.

Which reminded me of the last time I was there, walking around with ExLover. We met up with a friend of mine from Connecticut and her father. Her and ExLover *loathed* one another. ExLover said it was because the Friend wanted me, but I don't think so. I *did* notice the Friend pointedly ignore ExLover the entire time, though, so there was *something bad going on between them... Anyway, there was a Breton band playing, and the father said that he found it strange to hear French at a Celtic festival. I told him about Brittany and Qu�bec's Breton roots, but I don't think he understood. Too many peope telling him that 'Celtic' equals Scotland and Ireland, I guess...

Anyway, something weird happened to-night. In front of the main stage was a large empty space where people were congregating for the main event. People went off to the tents and brought back chairs, which was a good idea, seeing as the main event was four bands. The weird thing was, though, that everyone arranged the chairs in neat, tidy rows. I mean, no one told them to sit in rows; hellm there were no rows in which to sit, so people went off to get chairs in order to make a few.

I know that there's a cynical comment on free thought just *begging* to be said here, but I'm too exhausted to articulate it.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005