2001-08-10 || 3:42 p.m.

See ya, Monstre and whoring literature for the lucrative US market

So, I met Monstre for lunch and to say good-bye to-day. We traded 'phones, as I've always liked her better and it won't work for her in Europe anyway. Then we traded the same sort of rough hugs and good-natured insults as we always do, maybe pretending that she wasn't going away, maybe not. She's getting on a plane at 5.0pm.

We weren't ever really supposed to be friends. Not the way we met so long ago, not with her boyfriend and Sister's husband around. Damnit, why does it seem like all of my friends have gone down the damned 401, died, or taken an aeroplane to a new home somewhere else?

And the next person who tells me that this means I can visit her in Paris is going to get a licking. What do I care about a week in Paris versus an unplanned phonecall that starts with 'Hey bitch, what are you doind to-night?...'

She says she may bugger the interview. I told her I'd kick her arse if she did. She's been trying to find a reason to move back to France for-ever.

**********

Like Harry Potter, Philip Pullman's Dark Materials series starts off with a book that has a special title for the American audience. Unlike Harry Potter, Canadians get the US edition of the book. I have ordered the first book from Amazon.co.uk to see if, like Harry Potter, the US edition changes dialogue.

This whole trend towards bastardising books for specific markets should be giving literature-oriented people indigestion. I mean, a translation from English to French or German or Japanese is one thing, but 'translating' a book from International English to US is rediculous, especially as it doesn't seem to work the other way around. AND it doesn't happen between French and Qu�b�cois, even though the differences are so much greater.

Hmph. An author can no longer be secure in his or her words, it seems...

**********

BTW, is it me, or does NYC deplete people's wills? I mean, I have not yet met *one* person from that town who does or is what they want instead of what they should be seen to be doing or being, be it by society or by their friends. I have been told by at least one of them that it's just how the place works, and that if you fall out of the circle, you're as good as gone.

Well kids, *That's* why I decided not to stay when I went down there to work. I felt my self-respect start to slip almost as soon as I got off the bus. I hear the same thing practically every time I speak to a Noo-Yoakah, and I think it's rediculous. Damn it, stand up for who each of you really is, then change the world or something. Give the city the soul it so desperately needs. Each of you is worth more than NYC is letting you be.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005