2001-08-02 || 11:12 a.m.

A stupid question, an acerbic answer

No, I *don't* wear a Pentangle to show my faith. I don't see the need, and I don't want to show off my 'alternative lifestyle' to every ignorant prat who might want to take a swipe at me for it. I am aware that there are still 'executions' of Pagans in the name of Christ (a person was killed for 'Sorcery' in France in 1977, another was burnt at the stake in Verkhnesadovye, Ukraine in January 1997, for instance), but I am also aware that this is rare and that I have nothing to fear. I know that for every true believer, there are ten flaky TSR pagans who like to wear cloaks and play with swords. I am aware of the Hollywood Witch and the indelible stain she has left on the word and the faith.

I do not hang with large groups of Wiccans. I am not a member of a 13-member coven, who toes the party line and takes his rules and rites from the 'right' book. I am not Gardnerian, Alexandrian, Faery, or a 1734 adherent. I think that sects who worship only the Goddess are making the same kind of gender-divinity mistake as do judaeo-christians, I think that we are killing a sacred place with our pollution and pan-species extermination programme, and I think that our Mother will wipe us out in the end.

Yes, I have a pentangle. Yes, I sometimes wear it. No, I don't wear it all the time or as an ensign of what I believe. I don't need it as such. The mountains are my symbol, the dirt underneath all this damned concrete is my symbol, as is the ocean, a whale, krill, birds, the post-coital sweat on my lover's body, and a squirrel on a branch. My symbols are the clouds and the rain that falls from them, and that is all I need.

Does that answer your small-minded question?



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005