2001-04-21 || 9:13 a.m.

Happy Birthday, Elizabeth II

So, yesterday, a bunch of us went to J's place for port after work. We turned on CBC Newsworld to see what was up in Qu�bec City to discover that demonstrators (in the red zone, I assume) had broken through that godawful fence, and there were police tear gas canisters flying.

I know that every demonstration has a few rabble-rousers out to stir the crowd in to a frenzy, and I think it's a retarded way to make a statement. I also think that the existence of that wall more than ensured that the protests would get at least a *bit* ugly: If you want to stir up some shite, give angry people a symbol against which to rail. The wall is that symbol. You know, the red cape and the bull, that sort of thing...

I am also a bit ambivalent, these days, about the effectiveness of peaceful protests. I prefer them. I've been in some. I think it's more intelligent than breaking through a fence and destroying Global TV's cars (Which seemed rediculous to me), but I also think that governments are as separated from the people as ever, and perhaps a head of government will only start thinking before signing things that hand off national sovereignty to globalism when it becomes personally dangerous to do so.

But hey! Lotsa good shots for the news, eh? Including one reporter who couldn't finish his report because he'd just gotten gassed. Waytogo CBC. Send your people there with GAS MASQUES next time!

These images are from the CBC website...

**********

Hmmm... Here's a wee break down of Canada's Parliament according to the Ottawa Citizen (It's a newspaper, folks):

Of 301 MPs...

9 have been arrested for fraud;
30 have been accused of spousal abuse;
14 have been accused of writing bogus cheques;
95 have bankrupted at least 2 businesses;
4 have spent time behind bars for assault;
4 have been arrested for shoplifting;
16 are currently defendants in lawsuits;
62 have been arrested for drunk driving in the past year;
55 cannot get a credit card because of bad credit;
12 have been arrested for drug-related charges.

Canada's lawmakers and bureaucrats all. No wonder no one can trust a politician...

**********

So, I finally got my copy of LinuxPPC. I figure I'll install it one day over the next week or so, though I should be sweating at the bit, as I've been waiting for over a month. Whatever, at least it came, eh?

If it's anything like the 1999 edition, I'm in for some serious tinkering. Oh well, I happen to *love* tinkering, so it's all good...

Anyway, I'm going to bed now, as I'm tired from drinking pints.

**********

Before I go, I just want to say that to-day (Saturday) is HRH the Queen of Canada's 75th birthday. There's a smallish get together at my place to celebrate, starting at about 10.30p. I'm goint to have a drink to HRH, then two for the protesters who've been gassed or beaten about two hours away up the St-Lawrence River...

**********

Also, congrats to the crew of the Space Shuttle Endeavour for successfully transporting one of Canada's Astronauts and the Canadarm 2 to the Stupid International Space Station.





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005