2001-04-19 || 7:50 a.m.

Run with scissors! Run with them, dammit!

Wow, did I sleep. Broke out the new blades yesterday after work and zipped along the bike path at the Lachine Canal, past where all the empty husks of factories and commerce sort of glower at the water. I re-discovered some parts of Montr�al that I'd forgotten about. Very picturesque, very decayed-- the Montr�al that the Parti Qu�b�cois created when they chased corporations to Toronto.

They're changing things down there. Gentrifying some parts, park-ising others--I got what I hope will be some good shots. if they turn out, maybe I'll post a few.

I will blade after work as often as my little legs will handle. Gotta stop that damned office spread. Of course, I was so tired when I got home last night that I went to bed at 10.0p.

**********

I read an interesting article on how advertising and marketing pay more attention to Qu�bec's distinctness than many other industries, and how being surrounded by a different linguistic reality has helped to create a very healthy local communications industry.

The truth is, if Qu�bec was an English-speaking province, there would probably be as little local TV and Music production as there is in any other Canadian province. As it is, there is an extremely plucky Qu�b�cois media culture, in which Qu�b�cois watch Qu�bec-made TV shows (like Virginie) and listen to Qu�b�cois musicians (like Jean Leloup or Catherine Durand), whereas in the RoC, American culture pretty much reigns supreme. That would explain why so many people here work in communications...

But I think that it's a good thing. Generally, French-speaking Qu�b�cois don't have the same slavish attraction to New York City or LA as Anglos do. They worship their province... Oh, and go to Paris, where they hate everyone for not being Qu�b�cois, but love the cheese and the wine and the Louvre. Go figure.

**********

I have literally nothing else to talk about. I'm stressed because I have to leave for work in about 20 minutes.

**********

BTW: at 12.25.21 this morning, we reached the 987,654,321st second of the UNIX epoch (since midnight Greenwich time 01 January 1970). Woot.

**********

Oh yeah, I finally did 3 years worth of income taxes. don't lag behind, guys, it's just too crappy...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005