2001-03-30 || 7:56 a.m.

Reykjavik, Washington, and Kyoto

Oh yeah, and if you want me to be your utter nemesis foe-ever, just be 45 minutes late to meet me in a bar I don't like. In fact, be late repeatedly without calling, or better yet, call me *at the time we're supposed to meet* to tell me you'll be late.

Yeah, that'll work.

**********

So, I think that the US's recent stance on the Kyoto convention basically means that someone either has to either de-lobotomise George W Bush, or bring trade sanctions against the USA. It's obvious that the US's dependence on other nations makes them a prime target for that kind of treatment, and I think that it's time the rest of the planet stopped allowing American lawmakers and legislators to act as if Manifest destiny actually meant something to those of us living outside their borders. Perhaps it's time for the self-styled global cops to be policed in turn. A trade sanction would cut the US off from natural resources, which it needs in order to make the sub-par, useless gadgets and such that it manufactures for sale to the rest of the world. Under sanctions, Bush's remaining friends would rapidly evaporate, leaving him friendless and ripe for a non-confidence vote.

After all, his friends are Big Business, which cares for nothing other than money; If the country is suffering from a lack of trade, there will be less money for Bush's friends to fart around with.

And at the end of the day, I'd think of it as payback for at *least* a half dozen unwelcome American policing actions.

I think that my favourite quote so far comes from Elizabeth May, who heads up the Sierra Club here in Canada: "Canada and other countries can't stand mutely by while George Bush declares war on Planet Earth. ... This is a monumental betrayal."

*********

So, Reykjavik is very cheap to get to. It can be as low as US$199 return from NYC on IcelandAir, or whatever their airline is called. I've always wanted to go there, and the new, cheaper rates make it very attractive. The problem is the fact that everything *in* Iceland costs so bloody much, to the tune of $10 for a beer and about $8 for a hanburger. Thank the gods I don't eat hamburgers...

Hmm.... It still might be worth thinking about. I *do* have this vacation time coming up...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005