2001-02-12 || 7.06p

Concordia salus

This is my 188th entry, not counting the Lost Tomes of Cf188

**********

I shit you not:

'Circumcision is against the Charter, group says
'A new Canadian group called the Association for Genital Integrity has applied for public funding to launch a court challenge aimed at banning the circumcision of baby boys.'
--National Post, 12 February 2001.

Wow, it's nice to know that there are people out there looking after Canada's small packages. Apparently, the Section of the Criminal Code that prohibits female circumcision is discriminatory under the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, as it doesn't provide equal protection to men under the Law.

I dunno, maybe I'm just a schmo, but I think that digging cock-cheese out in the shower every morning is something I just wouldn't want to deal with...

You know, I really think that we don't live in the society we want, and I know it's not that which our forebears (that's 'forefathers' to you Yankees ;-) envisioned. I know this is a bit of a leap, but it's a thought-- well, a feeling, really, that gets stronger everytime I speak to someone who's never scrambled in their life.

If I was handed a million dollars to-morrow, I would squirrel it away into some sort of investment, some sort of safety-net. I know people who've never starved, and who always answer with a loooong list of clothes, acsessories, and trinkets they'd buy, at which stores they'd buy them, and which cities they'd repair to for lunch afterwards. Not me-- I know how it is to be the kid in school with no lunch and a single mother picking shite out of rich people's toilets just to makesure he had supper later on that night. It changes your view a bit.

The fact that people ask the question is a pretty stark indicator of how much we dwell on the superficial, though. Why a million dollars? Why not a workshop or a studio? Believe me, I *know* what I'd do with a Metalshop or a studio. Or a wood-working shed. Or a set of carving knives.

What would you do if someone handed you a new skill?

**********

At the height of their bitter quarrel
the wretched woman taunted him:
'Poetry is one thing, life another.'

And indeed she was right to do so,
for her brief days will soon be over
but she will live infamous in his poems forever.

--VITA AETERNA, Irving Layton

I think everyone who's ever written a poem has ached to publish this.

I think that the reason I get so nervous around literary academics is that I have spent my life dreaming of being Leonard Cohen, and they always manage to remind me that I've landed up as Charles Bukowski.

Piss off. Sleep on, academe, life moves on without you.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005