2001-01-30 || 5.41p

cf in mucho pain

Ow. I'm in vast amounts of pain right now. The story? Simple: Every morning, I pet Tarot for ten minutes or so before getting out of bed. It's just something he expects, and he can be a read bitch if he doesn't get it. Anyway, this morning, I'm petting Tarot like usual. I guess he must have flicked his tail out over the edge of the bed or something, coz the next thing I knew, Diarmuid had pounced, Tarot was about five feet above the bed, and I was bleeding from gashes all over my arms and torso.

Timing being what it was, Tarot landed back on me just as I flinched from the pain, resulting in him launching his arse straight up *again* and scratching the one centimetre of untouched flesh on my stomach and arms. Obviously, I tossed the little fahker into the corner and crawled, bleeding, to the bathroom to put some alcohol onto my wounds. It's pretty uncomfortable, actually: my shirt keeps getting caught on the scabs...

**********

So, I was sewing on Sunday, slurping up the Tetley and soaking up some sonic sex appeal, when a thought came unbidden, into my head. It wasn't a sentence or a picture or anything, or even an idea, really-- I was thinking about a woman. A very specific Acadian who ExLover thought was 'perfect,' and about whom she was correspondingly nervous (Apparently, most girls at ExLover's tender age are that unsure of themselves, no matter how hot, beautiful, or otherwise fine they may be).

Of course, Acadian Girl is editor in chief of one of the University's art mags, whereas ExLover learned English by watching Maury, so maybe ExLover *was* onto something when she hinted that this woman scared her a bit. cf thinks that smart is sexy, after all, but smarter is definitely sexier. Now, Acadian Girl hasn't really shown any interest, and I'm not exactly cruising right now; I don't think I'm about to jump into another girl's bed or anything, but it sort of made me reflect a bit on something that I had been trying not to think about:

I really shouldn't be thinking about women right now at all, right? I'm afraid that, somewhere in the back of my mind, I'll be comparing whoever comes next (be it next month or next year) to ExLover, and finding them wanting. What if I get together with someone beautiful and learned as hell, but I still wish I was feeling ExLover in bed? I know that sounds really shallow, but I also know that people are sometimes shallower or scuzzier than they want to be. I also know that ExLover's going to be pretty tough to replace in that particular respect, and I don't think that that's a small issue.

And I guess it wouldn't be fair to initiate something with someone who, no matter how great, has no chance of being anything other than a transitional woman.

Ouch, now I'm paraphrasing Rob Reiner movies...

So, I guess I *should* find an intellectual midget (easy) who is prettier and sexier than ExLover (hard) with whom to blow a couple of weeks before thinking about anything serious.

Of course, I don't know if I could really bring myself to grab at a piece of arse like some dumb jock. I keep wanting to care.

**********

I have never been easy with the concept of diplomatic immunity, and this turns that uneasiness into outrage. The fact that Andrei Knyazev is headed back to Russia after killing Catherine MacLean on an Ottawa street is nothing short of disgusting. I'm sorry, but I am *not* na�ve enough to think that Knyaznev is returning home to face the sort of justice that his crime requires, that Ms.Maclean's friends and family require, or that I require as a Canadian watching a him go home scot-free after commiting a crime in my national capital; a crime for which another Canadian would have been (rightly) hanged by his balls.

No, I don't like diplomatic immunity. In fact right now, it seems rediculous. People's lives should be worth more than that.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005