2001-01-05 || 12.0a

Drack attack 2000

5 January. Sacred to the Greek maiden goddess Kore.

Saw Dracula 2000 to-night (well, last night, technically). Not too bad, considering that they just re-told the same old Drac story with the same old drac names, but moved the action to Louisiana -- I guess to woo the almighty American viewer or something. The babe factor was painfully high, as can be expected from any film representing our darkest, vilest side.

That is, I think, what the vampyr represents: Everything that humans are attracted to, but are afraid of as well. The dark East; filthy sex, and the death that can be associated with it; the danger of seduction in place of the warmth of love; revenge. Absinthe for our values, I guess, made up of equal parts wormwood, herbs, and base instinct.

I would live that way: counterpoint to the teachings of Christ, counterpoint to the Laws and Majesties to whom people shout their allegiances. But who would want that for longer than a century or two? Who would *want* that same life after five centuries? Immortal, rich as one cares to be, insane with desire for anything at all to break the monotony of nonliving? Reeking with the stench of stale blood and hiding corpses every night in the hopes of not ending up as fodder for a spike and torch wielding mob?

In 1568, Transylvania became the first Kingdom in Europe in which the heresy of Unitarianism was made legal. An intersting piece of historical fact for a nation saddled with the Vlad the Impaler stigma for all of eternity. Humanitarian religion and Count of Vampyrs, a very cool national character, if you ask me.

**********

When I got home, it was with an unexpected little twist of desolation that I noticed Lover's empty room. I already knew, of course. It was planned. I had just left her at the m�tro. Still, when she called to tell me she'd gotten home alright, I didn't want to get off the 'phone so fast. The next little while promises to be extremely interesting.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005