2000-11-26 || 8.32p

oOOoohhh! Election Day in Canada!

By the time anyone reads this. it'll prolly be Monday the 27th of November. Just another date, another year in another middling lifetime, right? Except that, as almost no Americans and damned few Canadians seem to know, it is Election Day 2000 in the US's biggest trading partner.

It also marks the first federal election in my life where I will hesitate before putting my 'x' in the NDP box. The reasons for this is simple: The Parti du Rien (Nothing Party) is running its only candidate in my riding. A homeless man who sings in the homeless men's choir that serenades St-Catherine street all summer long. They've raised money to put out a CD, and they'e raised enough to hopefully send one of their own to Ottawa to-morrow. It takes balls to do this, and that's why, though I'll probably still punch the Democratic vote to-morrow, I'll do it with a secret wish for the homeless man with the big balls.

So, I've spent the last five weeks convinced that we were going to see a Liberal minority government with a *huge* Canadian Alliance opposition, two PCers and just enough NDP guys to fill a thimble and still keep their Official Party status (I've said it before: 'NDP: It's my party, and I'll cry if I want to'). Now I'm not so sure. People have been streaming away from the CA (towards the PC party, unfortunately) for several days now, spurred on by 'Asian invasion' comments and the party's plans to cut the Canada Pension Plan and revoke the natives' tax-free status. Lately, Stockwell day was booed by crowds out there on the prairies -- the CA's heartland. Who knows? Maybe Joe 'vote for me, my daughter's a babe' Clark's Conservatives can pull the party back up to the force it used to be. I hope not, but they *are* better than Stock Day's buncha rednecked, gun-toting cronies.

Hm... anyone else have a thought or two? I'd love to hear it...

Oh yeah: Lover and I saw the Grinch last night.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005