2000-11-16 || 8.10p

Thursday night, in the bank, and a weeeek 'til payday

I wonder when Marn's coming back?

*********

To-day, I feel better about Cel's marriage. I wasn't really unhappy, I guess. More shocked. I was just more unhappy because I had wanted to talk about it with my sister, and when she cancelled on me I felt shitty. I don't really have that many people to talk to about stuff like that. I mean, Lover's initial reaction was a resounding 'so?', followed up later with the declaration that it was my masculine ego that was bruised, and that I couldn't accept that Cel had gotten over me.

Ouch, baby.

She might be right about the male ego thing. That sounds like it would make sense, as embarrasing as I find that, but I knew Cel was over me, I wanted it that way.

**********

Every city, town, and area on the planet has a unique geological signature, which is pretty cool, because it means that you can tell what city someone was born in by the of strontium-87 to strontium-86 in their teeth and bones. Teeth are better because they stop developing much earlier, and therefore stop incorporating the elements from the surroundings earlier. It appears that strontium gets into our teeth and bones by substituting for calcium, which it mimics in terms of chemical behaviour-- pretty sneaky, if you ask me. The bones will eventually change to match the new area into which we've doubtless moved, what with the shrinking planet, increasingly mobile populations, and all the other Global Village buzzwords, but the teeth, ah yes, the teeth...

Now, I don't think that this matters to most of us, I mean, who the hell zips about with a mass spectrometre in their pockets? Still, it's cool.

Oh, and, uhm... it also brings new meaning to the old adage that you can take the boy out of Toronto, but you can't take the Toronto out of the boy.

**********

So, in a little over a year, the city I live in will cease to exist. In its place, there will be a borough with no power over its own territory. I one fell swoop, cities with large English-speaking populations will see their taxes rise as they become part of either the Montr�al mega-city or the mega-city of Longueuil. Some current cities will be broken up into different boroughs so that they cannot ask for bi-lingual status. The people will vote against it, and it will go through anyway -- Most of these cities have voted to remain Canadian in the eventuality of a 'yes' vote on Qu�bec sovereignty.

Also, the only parts of Montr�al where their taxes will go up are areas where the Angos live.

baie D'Urf� is having a referendum to declare themselves a distinct society, which will open a whole can of worms, and the whole country will get pulled into another unity issue.

This plays so nicely into the PQ's hands, that it makes me sick.

Lover is voting 'yes.' She doesn't even realise that she's voting to take power away from, and eventually subsume, Anglo Qu�bec, which is the minority to which I happen to belong. Either that, or she doesn't care, in which case what's she doing with me?

Let me clarify things a bit here. I am not a whiny Anglo who refuses to speak French. I don't have a problem with the fact that the English on signs has to be half the size and underneath the French. What I care about is anti-democratic actions by governments inside what the UN has tapped as being the best country in which to live several years running now. I care about one group,*ANY* group, being singled out and bothered repressed in little, irritating, ways. I care about the fact that many Qu�b�cois and Qu�b�coises consider Lover to be more Qu�b�coise than I, though her family immigrated from Germany less than thrity-five years ago, and mine's been here since 1642.

Hello World, we're the most ridiculous society in town, and we'd like to twiddle our pink meat for all to see.

I've whinged enough for one day.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005