2000-10-28 || 5.50p

Book of Shadows

Let me say something about Wicca here. Whereas I was happy to finally see witches shown in a less than dark and/or ridiculous light in Book of Shadows, I had to laugh a bit when two of the characters lifted up their shirts to find Runes carved into their flesh (apparently a sign that they're the next victims), and one of the Runes carved there was elhaz. Elhaz is a *Protection* Rune, guys...

Aside from that, I actually enjoyed the film. Sure, it was a cynical and cheap attempt to capitalise on the fallout from the first film, but it wasn't cut from the same stock as most of to-day's trendy exploitation horror flicks like Scream or I Really Still, Still, STILL Know What You Did Last Summer.

And it was creeeepy.

And, of course, there was the token Goth chick. The token Goth chick is becoming so much a part of Hollywood's filmmaking that I'm starting to wonder if anyone in LA's ever seen a MALE Goth.

I also think that it's time that the film industry stopped harping on the witch. I know, I know 'it's just a movie, dry up,' right? Wrong. It's a faith, it's a religion. If Hollywood started making films that painted Jews as money-lenders, that would be racist. If hollywood started painting blacks and asians in their stereotypical roles, that would be prejudiced. The only difference is that there are enough jews or blacks to form a lobby, to have the power to stop that sort of retrograde bullshit, whereas there aren't enough witches, and those who DO exist have to deal with the Hollywood/hallowe'en/comical satanist with the green skin stigma that has existed for so long. It's hard to be taken seriously when the people you're talking to have images of you leaping about on a broom in their heads.

It's also wrong as hell.

And I think that's why I liked Book of Shadows, whereas dreck like the Craft and the Witches of Eastwick left me so cold and insulted.

But man, painting the Runes as something evil really bites me where I don't want it to.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005