2000-10-27 || 6.10p

I read the news to-day, oh boy...

Got to work super early this morning 'cause I couldn't find the post office I'd left early to use. Oh well, it meant I could leave work early as hell.

**********

Jaysis Christ, I read a newspaper again to-day...

So, The Provincial government is going to table legislation on the 15 November that's prolly going to commit the province to the forced mergers of more than 30 cities, some into their neighbours, others into Montr�al itself.

Oh, um, with NO PUBLIC CONSULTATIONS!!!

Now, whereas I do indeed love Montr�al, I have to clarify that I don't love the City of Montr�al, I love the island. The Montr�al Urban Community, which includes the municipality of Westmount (which is wehere I live). In westmount, I have power. The voter/citizen has a voice, as a friend of mine found out when he went to yell at the mayor for using salt on the roads in winter. The city changed back to sand the next year.

In Montr�al, on the other hand, the government has a history of corruption and aloofness that goes back over 50 years, abnd stuff like $250,000 bathrooms in the mayor's office and the dismissal of ruling party city councillors who don't vote the party line are proof of this.

There have been referenda and utter refusal by the smnaller cities, cities that aren't as cash strapped as Montr�al, and who will lose big when the forced mergers come through. They see the harsh words and threats from the auditor general way back when it was discovered that the City had mishandled, mis-spent, or lost hundreds of thoudsands of dollars. They also see changes that will create a huge infrastructure that will be out of touch with the people on this island.

And some of the proposed plans call for all *kinds* of mergers, stretching way out to places like Bois des filion (where I was a couple of weekends ago)

I think the mayor of Anjou said it best when he declared at a meeting of 30 mayors that 'We have one common enemy -- the government of Qu�bec...The people have to be heard, and the government has to give them the right to express themselves...People are fed us with this dictatorship.'

Fuck, guys, we *know* how bad it was for Toronto...

**********

Let's see... the press is all up in arms over the fallout from the G20 riots. it seems that their not happy about being chased and roughed up by the MUC police, along with the protesters they were there to photograph.

Can't say I blame them.

**********

I keep babbling about a Just Society, and it just seems to be getting more remote here in Qu�bec. Funny, all this is at the same time that the BC government has legislated the availability of the morning after pill without the need for a perscription.

Why is it that news from BC are always so much better than those from La Belle Province? Is it just that latin peoples are more prone to dictatorial government? Find me a latin country that hasn't been a dictatorship at least once (Swirtzerland doesn't count, it's a mutt). You know where to tell me so...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005