2000-07-25 || 4.25p

Nautical dreams and bitchery

Yeah, I guess I wish I were a multi-gazillionaire. If I were, I'd have my 37-foot catamaran, one of these, and most DEFINITELY one of these.

I would never work again. I'd just sit at home and write books. Ah, whatta life...

Why are these things so expensive ? Sheesh! I wonder if things like that would be more affordible if the planet were almost all water, or would people charge more for them because people would have no choice but to buy them just to get around?

I dunno. AT some point, we lost track of the basic ability to build things. If you go a bit further back in our history as a planet, before the industrial revolution and all it's associated evils, people built their houses and stuff, further back, every spoon and bowl in every Amerindian village was hand made as a work of art, not bought off a shelf after being built by a machine.

And to-day, we pay hundreds of grand on houses built by others and licensed. Licensed. If you build your own house, you can't sell it because of a lack of licensed workmanship.

Now, I understand the need for safety. If you don't know how to wire, don't do it. Period. But surely it would not be impossible to re-imbue people with a sence of artisanery? Maybe not houses, but cabinets, tables, chairs...

Because we are all consumers, which translates beautifully into 'slaves of corporations.'

I hate being that. I really, really hate it.





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005