2000-07-02 || 09.33.32

Stop Mel Gibson before he acts again

I don't understand why moving day in Montr�al HAS to be the 1st of July. I haven't seen a Canada Day parade in a couple of years now. I used to go to Ottawa for the celebrations that ccovered Parliament Hill and spilled all over the streets and the market. Now, if only I could convince everyone I know to stay in their appartments next year, maybe I can go next summer.

Which reminds me, Best Friend moved in yesterday. Of course, the place is a disaster. But at least it's a moving in disaster, not a roomies-have-left-me-to-clean-out-the-crust-in-the-fridge kinda disaster (don't get me started. I should never have given up on trying to keep the place clean. I'd still be pissed, but at least I wouldn't have had to scrape brown crust off of the shelves in the pantry).

Oh. Check this one out: Roomie One moved the last of his stuff out as well. Took his computer, but left his crappy ancient monitor and broken printer for me to throw out. I've never had to pick up after an EX-flatmate before...

Oh, I went with Lover to see The Patriot. Load of crap that pulls at heartstrings we just don't have up here. When Mel G came riding proudly up to the head of the army with the Starts and Stripes flying behind him, the cheers of his troops were almost drowned out by the chortles and jeers from the audience. Oh well, don't blame us. School teaches us that the wrong side won that one.

Seriously, though. Don't see it. It was a waste of 11 bucks (gotta love the Paramount House of Mass Culture. 11 bucks for a move, shite...). It was typical and clich� is all the worst ways. The only scenes that were interesting were the fighting scenes. I wonder, though, if Hollywood ever does any research, other thn trying to get the war scenes right. I mean, why the hell would the Americans have American accents in 1776? C'mon, guys.

Also, there were NO scenes of Americans brutalising the Loyalists and chasing them across the border.

Hm. Historical revisionism courtesy of Mel Gibson-- again. Should have just called his character William Wallace.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005