05.19.2003 || 10h14

Mystie's questions

Okay, I woke up still wondering about a part of yesterday's canalside conversation. Mystie asked the super interesting question (not of me, but hypothetically) of whether or not there is a finite number of souls, and will they run out at some point because of global overpopulation?

I asked the exact same question once. Then again. Then again. Then againandagainandagainandagain.

I still have no freaking way of tricking myself into contentment over that one. Is the Guf of christian myth going to run dry some day and spark off the end? Is the greater, world-spanning soul a finite force, parcelling out ever-smaller bits to ever-growing numbers of new babies? Is it an infinite force?

I have to admit that the idea of infinity makes my skin crawl in the same way that does looking overboard and seeing a big fucking whale drift by. Anything that huge is automatically creepy. The Universe must have a border somewhere to keep it from becoming really, really scary. I don't swim where I can't see the bottom because there are leviathans out there, and that is terrifying. Hell, I get trepidatious just looking down to where the hulls of the freighters disappear into the gloom at the old port.

I know, I know; what do elephantine aquatic mammals and big boats have to do with the infinite universe?

Simple: size. The idea of an infinite universe gives me the same cold creep as would seeing a sperm whale swim past my insignificant swimming self.

I dunno, whether we're crashing headlong towards an empty soul repository or the parcelling out of the last bits of the planet's lifeforce, both end up at the same place. Both make the headlong charge towards global annihilation more understandable, I guess.

The infinite soul idea is more comforting in that respect because it comes with a built-in element of hope.

But at the end of the day, I have no idea where to even begin to think about an answer to this. But then, I'm only human. I don't *have* to understand everything in the entire universe.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005